Social Enterprise Business Centre

SE Promotion

Caritas Computer Workshop

About Us:

Founded in 2001 with the help of the Social Welfare Department, the Caritas Computer Workshop initially aimed at providing teenagers with computer hardware and software vocational training. As part of the training programme, participants should provide voluntary computer repair and upgrade service to NGOs and families in need.

Supported by the Environmental Protection Department, the workshop started the Computer Reuse Programme in 2003, which serves to lower the amount of electronic waste to landfills and help the people in need with reused computers. The computer not qualified for reuse were dissembled and grouped according to the EPD’s demands. After that, they were sold to recyclers for recycling, with the income used to support the computer reuse programme.

CTRL+Z, Caritas Computer Workshop’s new service point, was opened in 2018. It provides reused computers and digital products for service targets as well as the public. Caritas Computer Workshop moved to a factory building To Kwa Wan the same year and formally became a self-financed social enterprise. Apart from the above, in time of high teenage unemployment rate, the computer reuse programme provides teenagers with job opportunities, helping a great number of teenagers to find their career path over the years.

3 Objectives:
1)      To provide training for teenagers in need
2)      Improve the quality of life for the deprived through technology
3)      Lower the amount of electronic waste, save the environment and apply the 3R (Recycle, Reduce, Reuse) principles

SE Information:

Name:
Caritas Computer Workshop
Organization:
Telephone:
2716 6875
Fax:
2716 6951
Address:
No. 73,G/F, Block 2, Yip On Factory Estate, Wang Hoi Road, Kowloon Bay, Kowloon

Product and Service

Caritas Computer Workshop's services include the Computer Recycling Programme, Computer Reuse Programme, Digital Products Reuse Programme, Data Erasure and Data Recovery Service.

Computer Recycling Service
The workshop provides free collection services for electronic waste. The workshop staff will collect the e-waste at the applicant's requested site 4 to 8 weeks after they apply for collection online. The workshop also sets up collection points at more than 20 Caritas Service Centres all over Hong Kong.

Computer and Digital Products Reuse Programme
Eligible applicants* could apply for a set of reused computer preinstalled with Microsoft Windows 10 Pro and Microsoft Office 2010 at $200 HKD. The workshop also offers reused laptop computers, mobile phones, tablets, e-books and other computer and digital accessories.

Computer Repair Service
The workshop's mobile computer repair team visits qualified applicants' home to provide computer repair service every day. The membership fee is 50 dollars a year for eligible applicants*.

*include people who receive government subsidy or are recommended by NGOs, churches and schools.

Data Erasure
The workshop will erase all data in every hard drive collected. Subject to the customer's needs, the workshop will provide data degaussing and hard drive destruction service. Our data degaussing technology meets the U.S. DoD 5520.22-M (E) Standard.

Data Recovery
The workshop introduces the new public data recovery service in 2018. Customer's damaged hard drive's data are recovered so that the valuable data, such as documents and photos, can be retrieved.

社會企業商務中心

社企優惠資訊

明愛電腦工場

關於我們:

2001年獲社會福利署支持而成立的「明愛電腦工場」,是為接受綜援的低學歷青年人提供電腦軟硬件訓練課程及就職培訓。作為培訓的一部份,所有學員均須參與義務工作,把舊電腦維修及升級,送贈給非牟利機構或貧苦家庭。

2003年起,得到環保署的資助,成立了電腦再生計劃,在減少電腦廢物的同時,亦能將可重用的電腦轉贈有需要的人士,讓更多人受惠。而不適合重用的電腦,會按照環保署的指示,拆件分類,賣予回收商作循環再用,而所有收入均作為活動的資助。

2018年九龍灣「明愛電腦工場-CTRL+Z原點」地鋪正式開幕,為公眾提供電腦和智能電話維修及購買服務。同年「明愛電腦工場」搬遷到土瓜灣工廈,正式成為自負盈虧的社會企業。除此之外,在失業率高企的情況下,電腦再生計劃更為年青人創造了就業的機會,多年來已有為數不少的青年能成功就業。

3大理念:
1)      為有需要的青少年提供培訓
2)      透過科技改善基層生活
3)      減少電子廢物,保護環境,達致3R(Recycle , Reduce , Reuse)原則

社企資料:

名稱:
明愛電腦工場
機構:
電話:
2716 6875
傳真:
2716 6951
地址:
九龍灣宏開道業安工廠大廈第二座地下73號
電子郵件:

產品及服務

明愛電腦工場主要提供電腦回收服務、電腦重用計劃、數碼產品重用計劃、電腦維修服務、資料擦除以及資料復修服務等。

電腦回收服務
工場為公眾提供免費上門回收服務,於網上提交表格後,工場車隊會於4至8個星期內上門回收電腦­及電腦周邊產品,亦於各區明愛單位設立回收站。

電腦重用計劃及數碼產品重用計劃
合資格的申請人*可以最低200元的價錢購買桌上重用電腦一套,電腦預載正版Microsoft Windows 10 Pro以及Microsoft Office 2010,工場亦有再生手提電腦、手提電話、平版電腦、電子書以及其他電腦/數碼周邊可供申請。

電腦維修服務
工場設有流動維修車隊,替合資格的申請人*提供上門電腦維修服務,費用為50元一年。

*包括正領取綜援等政府津助,或獲非政府機構、學校或神父推薦申請的有需要人士

資料擦除
工場會將所有回收而來的硬碟格式化,視乎回收客戶需要,工場同時提供硬碟銷磁或破碎服務,而所選用的硬碟銷磁技術是符合美國國防部之磁性媒體消除規範。

資料復修
工場於2018年開發公眾資料復修服務,主要訪過復修已損壞的硬碟,以保留當中的資料,如客戶的相片或文件。